Do your research

Do your research

I do not suggest you learn about the safety of and uses for essential oils from novice. This seems to be the case with many home party givers. If you attend a home party please ask the background of the hostess to determine their knowledge and experience level. Find out how long they have study and used oils, and what sources they have used in their studies.

Just this week another customer was planning to purchase Oregano Essential Oil to digest. In the process of the sale she told me of her plan which she learned through a doterra representative to put 3 drops of oregano in a glass of water and drink it. She never said what she planned to cure with this practice, something she was reluctant to share. My response, “Oh my, I do not recommend that,” left her startled. And, once again I heard the, ‘my doterra lady said’ to put three drops in a glass a water and drink it. In regards to Oregano Essential Oil, doterra’s website actually says: “Internal use: Dilute one drop in 4 fl. oz. of liquid.”  However, I don’t agree with that either. Oil and water separate, and Oregano Essential Oil carries enough heat to burn your skin, mouth, and throat. I can not say what else it may burn on its way down. In the end, I lost the sale and the lady remained safe.

Two weeks ago a mother came to me that planned to put essential oils on the feet of her young infant baby for chest congestion; the infant appeared to weight about 10 pounds. She was asking me which oils to use and was considering eucalyptus and a few others known to have anti-bacterial properties. She also learned this at a home party. I quickly told her, “The only oil I am aware of that is said safe for infants is Lavender Oil and even that I recommend diluting heavily.” Again, another lost sale and a bewildered mother.

Whether you are using essential oils oresoucre books.jpgr dried herbs do your own research, use reputable resources such as, http://umm.edu/health/medical/altme, look at as many sources as possible to compare what is recommended and dilute, dilute, dilute!

About krameratmarket

My life starts with family; they are my motivation for self-worth and achievement. I accomplish self-worth and achievement through career, self-directed study, and interacting with people. I own Kramer at market, I currently have two market locations, products in local retail establishments, and sell online. I sell spices, herbs, teas, and essential oils; but most of all, I interact with people. They teach me and I teach them. This blog is for teaching, learning, and sharing. My writings are based on my learned knowledge, as well as my opinions, from research, reading, talking, sharing, trial and error, and life experiences. Nothing you read here should be considered fact. Each of us is different, with different needs and reactions, each of us has experienced life uniquely. See you at market! New Eastern Market, 201 Memory Lane, York PA 17402 Fridays 8am - 6pm Saturday's Market, 3751 E Harrisburg Pike, Middletown, PA 17057 Saturdays 8am - 3pm

2 responses »

  1. What formula do you recommend for diluting your lemongrass for putting on foot for tendinitis

    Reply
    • Mary, In our massage blends we suggest 5 to 15 drops per ounce of carrier oil. This depends very much on the oil being used and the tolerance of the person using it. Some oils are generally safe, like lavender oil, and some are not, like oregano oil. For lemongrass and a foot massage, I suggest starting on the low end, (5 drops per ounce of carrier oil) and adding more if needed, after you see how you respond to the application.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

