Natural Fertilizers

Everyday I look for ways to stay close to nature and avoid buying unnecessary chemicals and manufactured items. This is not to undermine the need to manufacture but it does save money around the house. Recently, I ran out of fertilizer for my vegetable and flower plants. I stopped at the local feed store to inquire on what was best to use. I expected (or at least hoped for) an answer like worm castings. But the answer I got was, 10,10,10, referencing to a bag of 10-10-10 fertilizer containing 10 percent nitrogen, 10 percent phosphate and 10 percent potash. I have no idea what the ingredients are that make up this commercial mix; I just knew it was not what I was looking for. So I resorted to an internet search of natural fertilizers. Here are my notes from that search:

Epsom Salt – 1 teaspoon to 1 gallon of water, use monthly to provide magnesium and sulfate.
Coffee Grounds – sprinkle on soil around roses and blueberry bushes to provide acid.
Egg Shells – provide calcium carbonate (lime).
White Vinegar – 1 tablespoon per 1 gallon of water provides acid to plants.
Fireplace Ash – provides potassium and calcium carbonate.
Fish Tank Water – provides nitrogen.

I am good on all these ingredients accept the coffee grounds since I am a tea drinker. However, it looks like white vinegar will fulfill the need for acid on acid loving plants like roses and blueberry bushes, both of which I have. As a result, I have started using water from my indoor fish tank for indoor plants and water from my fish pond for outdoor plans. I do not yet know the results but I am hopeful of healthy, beautiful plants.

About krameratmarket

My life starts with family; they are my motivation for self-worth and achievement. I accomplish self-worth and achievement through career, self-directed study, and interacting with people. I own Kramer at market, I currently have two market locations, products in local retail establishments, and sell online. I sell spices, herbs, teas, and essential oils; but most of all, I interact with people. They teach me and I teach them. This blog is for teaching, learning, and sharing. My writings are based on my learned knowledge, as well as my opinions, from research, reading, talking, sharing, trial and error, and life experiences. Nothing you read here should be considered fact. Each of us is different, with different needs and reactions, each of us has experienced life uniquely. See you at market! New Eastern Market, 201 Memory Lane, York PA 17402 Fridays 8am - 6pm Saturday's Market, 3751 E Harrisburg Pike, Middletown, PA 17057 Saturdays 8am - 3pm

Leave a Reply

